Take in some of these fun, summer events happening at Ball State!

Nervous about visiting campus? Take a look at the Office of Community Engagement’s handy Getting to Campus resource for parking/public transit information!

Click the links for more information. Some events may be off-campus or have registration requirements.

Thursday, June 6, 2024

Friday, June 7, 2024

Thursday, June 13, 2024

Friday, June 14, 2024

Saturday, June 15, 2024

Monday, June 17, 2024

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Friday, June 21, 2024

Saturday, June 22, 2024

Sunday, June 23, 2024

Monday, June 24, 2024

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Thursday, June 27, 2024

School lets out in May, but there’s still stuff to do on Campus!

Nervous about visiting campus? Take a look at the Office of Community Engagement’s handy Getting to Campus resource for parking/public transit information!

Click the links for more information. Some events may be off-campus or have registration requirements.

Friday, May 3, 2024

Tuesday, May 7, 2024

Monday, May 13, 2024

Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Thursday, May 16, 2024

Friday, May 17, 2024

Saturday, May 18, 2024

Sunday, May 19, 2024

April has SO MUCH to do at Ball State!

Nervous about visiting campus? Take a look at the Office of Community Engagement’s handy Getting to Campus resource for parking/public transit information!

Click the links for more information. Some events may be off-campus or have registration requirements.

Monday, April 1, 2024

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Wednesday, April 3, 2024

Thursday, April 4, 2024

Friday, April 5, 2024

Saturday, April 6, 2024

Sunday, April 7, 2024

Monday, April 8, 2024

Tuesday, April 9, 2024

Wednesday, April 10, 2024

Thursday, April 11, 2024

Friday, April 12, 2024

Saturday, April 13, 2024

Sunday, April 14, 2024

Monday, April 15, 2024

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Thursday, April 18, 2024

Friday, April 19, 2024

Saturday, April 20, 2024

Sunday, April 21, 2024

Monday, April 22, 2024

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Thursday, April 25, 2024

Friday, April 26, 2024

Saturday, April 27, 2024

Sunday, April 28, 2024

Monday, April 29, 2024

Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Get ready for Spring with some fun, Ball State activities!

A goose in a fountain takes up for foreground of the photo. In the background, students lounge on a green lawn with blooming trees overhead

Nervous about visiting campus? Take a look at the Office of Community Engagement’s handy Getting to Campus resource for parking/public transit information!

Click the links for more information. Some events may be off-campus or have registration requirements.

Friday, March 1, 2024

Saturday, March 2, 2024

Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Friday, March 8, 2024

Monday, March 11, 2024

Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Thursday, March 14, 2024

Research Speaker Dr. Jerome Kotecki – 1 p.m.

Faculty Artist Series: Anna Vayman and Faculty – 7:30 p.m.

Friday, March 15, 2024

Saturday, March 16, 2024

Sunday, March 17, 2024

Monday, March 18, 2024

Tuesday, March 19, 2024

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

Thursday, March 21, 2024

Friday, March 22, 2024

Saturday, March 23, 2024

Sunday, March 24, 2024

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Wednesday, March 27, 2024

Thursday, March 28, 2024

Friday, March 29, 2024

Saturday, March 30, 2024

February is JAM-PACKED with fun stuff to do at Ball State!

Nervous about visiting campus? Take a look at the Office of Community Engagement’s handy Getting to Campus resource for parking/public transit information!

Click the links for more information. Some events may be off-campus or have registration requirements.

Thursday, February 1, 2024

Saturday, February 3, 2024

Monday, February 5, 2024

Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Wednesday, February 7, 2024

Thursday, February 8, 2024

Friday, February 9, 2024

Saturday, February 10, 2024

Sunday, February 11, 2024

Tuesday, February 13, 2024

Wednesday, February 14, 2024

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Friday, February 16, 2024

Saturday, February 17, 2024

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Thursday, February 22, 2024

Friday, February 23, 2024

Saturday, February 24, 2024

Sunday, February 25, 2024

Monday, February 26, 2024

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Thursday, February 29, 2024

January – April 2024 Free Planetarium Show Schedule

Press release provided by the Charles W. Brown Planetarium
www.bsu.edu/planetarium

All regular planetarium programs are free of charge, cash donations are accepted at the door.

One free pair of solar eclipse glasses will be provided to each planetarium show guest for a suggested cash donation of $1, while supplies last. Glasses are partially funded through support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Simons Foundation.

January

The Universe Overhead

Fridays: Jan. 12, 26 at 6:30pm
Saturdays: Jan. 13, 27 at 6:30pm

The sky on cold winter nights has some of the brightest stars and the best-known constellations. Some of these stars are truly supergiants hundreds of times bigger than our Sun, while others are dwarfs the size of Earth. Along the winter Milky Way there are colorful clouds where new stars are being born. Come and enjoy a guided tour of this celestial wonderland, learn about the upcoming total solar eclipse, and use star charts to explore the night sky.
Suitable for all ages 8+, all ages are welcome.

We Are Astronomers

Saturdays: Jan. 13, 27 at 5:00pm

Narrated by David Tennant, we explore what exactly do astronomers do in this new program. Today’s astronomer is not the lone observer of past centuries. This program reveals the global collaboration, technology, and dedication required to answer the unresolved questions of the Universe and features info on NASA’s James Webb Space Telescope.

Most suitable for all ages 8+, all ages welcome

One World, One Sky: Big Bird’s Adventure

Saturdays: Jan. 13, 27 at 3:30pm

“One World, One Sky” is a brilliant program that follows Sesame Street’s Big Bird and Elmo as they explore the night sky with Hu Hu Zhu, a new friend from China. Together, they take an imaginary trip from Sesame Street to the moon, where they discover how different it is from Earth. They will also find shapes in the sky that will help them find the North Star. This cross-cultural adventure opens children’s eyes to the sky, helping them see how people all over the world are connected.
Best suited for families and groups with pre-K through 1st grade learners, all ages are welcome.

February

Solar Superstorms

Fridays: Feb. 9, 23 at 6:30pm
Saturdays: Feb. 10, 24 at 6:30pm

A fury is building on the surface of the Sun… high-velocity jets, a fiery tsunami wave that reaches 100,000km high, and rising loops of electrified gas are energized by what is going on underneath its surface. Will these “storms” affect Earth? Find the answer as we venture into the seething interior of our star to learn how they are formed. Solar Superstorms takes viewers into the tangle of magnetic fields and superhot plasma that vent the Sun’s rage in dramatic flares, violent solar tornadoes, and the largest eruptions in the solar system: Coronal Mass Ejections.
Suitable for all ages 10+, all ages are welcome.

Eclipse: The Sun Revealed

Saturdays: Feb. 10, 24 at 5:00pm

There will be a total eclipse of the Sun visible from Muncie, Indiana on April 8, 2024. A total solar eclipse is such a spectacular event, it is never too early to start planning for one. Come learn how solar and lunar eclipses happen, and about scientific discoveries that have been supported by total solar eclipses. This show also uses beautiful visuals to explore the historical and cultural view of eclipses, and explains how to safely see these awe-inspiring sights.

Most suitable for ages 10+, all ages are welcome.

One World, One Sky: Big Bird’s Adventure

Saturdays: Feb. 10, 24 at 3:30pm

“One World, One Sky” is a brilliant program that follows Sesame Street’s Big Bird and Elmo as they explore the night sky with Hu Hu Zhu, a new friend from China. Together, they take an imaginary trip from Sesame Street to the moon, where they discover how different it is from Earth. They will also find shapes in the sky that will help them find the North Star. This cross-cultural adventure opens children’s eyes to the sky, helping them see how people all over the world are connected.
Best suited for families and groups with pre-K through 1st grade learners, all ages are welcome.

March

Eclipse: The Sun Revealed

Fridays: March 1, 22 at 6:30pm
Saturdays: March 2, 23 at 6:30pm

There will be a total eclipse of the Sun visible from Muncie, Indiana on April 8, 2024. A total solar eclipse is such a spectacular event, it is never too early to start planning for one. Come learn how solar and lunar eclipses happen, and about scientific discoveries that have been supported by total solar eclipses. This show also uses beautiful visuals to explore the historical and cultural view of eclipses, and explains how to safely see these awe-inspiring sights.

Most suitable for ages 10+, all ages are welcome.

Kitz the Cat’s SuperMoon Adventure

Saturdays: March 2, 23 at 3:30pm & 5:00pm

Develop an understanding of the danger of space junk and humanity’s moon exploration while following adventurous cat astronauts! The Earth in the far future, where humanity no longer exists. Cats that survived in the debris left behind by humanity have evolved into intelligent beings. Three cats – Kitz, Tutti, and Pepe – are working as cleaners at NYASA and today’s mission is to clean up space junk. But these unpredictable street cats skip some of their work and fly to the Moon!
Best suited for families and groups with kids ages 6+, all ages are welcome.

April

Visit the Ball State eclipse website at https://bsu.edu/planetarium/eclipse-2024 for up-to-date information on additional special events and programs running in preparation for the Total Solar Eclipse on Monday, April 8, 2024.

We Are Stars

Fridays: April 12, 26 at 6:30pm
Saturdays: April 13, 27 at 6:30pm

Narrated by Andy Serkis, this program seeks to answer some of the biggest questions of all time. What are we made of? Where did it all come from? Explore the secrets of our cosmic chemistry, our explosive origins and connect life on Earth to the evolution of the Universe. A family-friendly film full of fun, adventure, and enlightenment.

Most suitable for all ages 8+, all ages are welcome.

Sunset Meditation

Saturdays: April 13, 27 at 5:00pm

How do STEM workers, including NASA professionals, cope with stress? Meditation is a powerful tool for maintaining psychological health and resilience. Since the planetarium offers a dark and quiet space for relaxation, it is the perfect place for meditation. Enjoy a free guided meditation experience from Ball State University. View an amazing sunset as you travel from the Grand Canyon to the North Pole. Then relax under a night sky filled with stars and glimpses of the Northern Lights.

Suitable for all ages 12+, all ages are welcome.

Magic Tree House: Space Mission

Saturdays: April 13, 27 at 3:30pm

Travel with Jack and Annie, stars of the Magic Tree House® best-selling children’s book series, as they search for answers to a mysterious riddle they discover in a written note signed “–M.” Peek into the treehouse and follow Jack and Annie on an exciting adventure as they meet a helpful astronomer and an astronaut. As they travel to an observatory and beyond into space, Jack and Annie nearly get … well, we don’t want to give the surprise away!

Best suited for families and groups with kids ages 6+, all ages are welcome.

Program Information

  • Cost: FREE, cash donations are accepted at the door. Plan to arrive early as seating is done on a first-come, first-served basis and seating is limited.
  • Runtime: Approximately 50 minutes total with live sky tour.
  • We do our best to have doors open 30 minutes before show time.

Planetarium Information

  • The planetarium is located on the west end of the Cooper Science Complex, at Charles W. Brown Planetarium, 2111 W. Riverside Ave., Muncie, Indiana 47306.
  • Due to construction being done on the Cooper Science Complex, select parking and pathway access to the planetarium is blocked off. Plan to arrive early to safely navigate the area and arrive on time for the program.
  • Food, drinks, gum or candy are not allowed in the planetarium.
  • Cellphones and any electronics that emit light must be silenced or turned off at the start of all programs. Please refrain from wearing light-up shoes to any planetarium programs.
  • Children 17 years and under should be accompanied by an adult.
  • We greatly appreciate your support to make our programs possible, and cash donations are accepted at the door.

For directions and parking information, as well as general policies, please visit the Charles W. Brown Planetarium website at www.bsu.edu/planetarium.